doctorshost.blogg.se

Dane elec usb light flashed
Dane elec usb light flashed




dane elec usb light flashed

Ta-daaaaa - the BIOS' list of bootable drives now included "USB RMD-FDD". I fished out a USB extension lead, plugged it directly into the back of the PC, connected the pen drive, and rebooted. My pen drive, and the BIOS, were both probably bootable - it was just that the system never got the chance to find the drive until it was too late. It then hit me what the problem was: the USB hub was not being accessed until well after the system looked for bootable devices. The pen drive was plugged into the hub, and this evening when I tried booting from it again, I noticed that the activity light on the drive did not glow until most of the way through booting the system from the HD. I have a USB hub attached to my desktop PC, as the USB ports are round the back and it's hard to reach them during normal use.

dane elec usb light flashed

In the end, the problem - and the solution - were quite simple, and I hope my experience will help anyone else with an AMI BIOS-based PC, trying to boot from a pen drive: In fact, I'm posting this from Firefox, in a DSL session, just to prove to myself that it's actually working.

Dane elec usb light flashed Pc#

Why? Because I finally managed to boot my main desktop PC into DSL from my pen drive (see my post above). 08 2005,00:05 I am one seriously happy DSL user tonight When I look in the BIOS Settings (Just upgraded to A08) I do not have an option for usb hdd, I have yes, no, & no boot. How did you get it to work on the Dell GX260? The following computers have successfully booted using a Sandisk Micro 128MB USB device that was formatted using the Dell Memory Key utility to first boot FreeDOS and then launch DSL via the DOS "loadlin program": Sometimes you can give it a second attempt by quickly pressing CTL-ALT-DEL and your computer will reboot and the USB device will light up sooner and then it will boot properly from the USB device. If your USB device light does not turn ON by the time the POST progress bar reaches 100%, your boot will fail. Unplug any other USB mass storage devices besides your desired boot device (extra external USB CDRW or external USB hard drive).

dane elec usb light flashed

12 2004,17:13 The following computers have successfully booted using a Sandisk Micro 128MB USB device that was formatted using the Dell Memory Key utility to first boot FreeDOS and then launch DSL via the DOS "loadlin program":ĭell Poweredge 400SC (OEM version of the Intel 875PZD motherboard).ĭell Optiplex GX260 with latest BIOS (A05?) the original A02 BIOS did NOT boot properly from USB.ĭell Optiplex GX270 with default (fairly recent) BIOS






Dane elec usb light flashed